Facebook is getting ready to completely retire a feature that lets you prevent others from looking up your Timeline simply by searching your name.
The "Who can look up your Timeline by name," controlled whether you could be found when people typed your name into the Facebook search bar. The search setting was removed last year for people who weren't using it. For the percentage of people still using the setting, Facebook says they will see reminders about it being removed in the coming weeks.
Facebook suggests the best way to control what people can find about you on Facebook is to choose who can see the individual things you share. But this means that you should set the sharing options every time you make a post.
In the coming weeks, people who are sharing posts publicly on Facebook will also see a notice reminding them that those posts can be seen by anyone, including people they may not know. The notice reminds people how to change the audience for each post.
To control who can find posts you shared in the past, visit the privacy settings page. With one click, you can limit the audience of posts you've shared in the past.